TBSA Tasmanian Snooker Championship

Cale Barrett - 2013 State Snooker Champion
The rising star of Tasmanian Cue Sports Penguin's Cale Barrett has shown just why he is going to be a force in the sport with an outstanding effort to win this years State Snooker Championship defeating Les Higgins (17 times state champion) in the final 6-2, also defeating Gregg Watt 5-2 (5 times state champion) in his Semi Final. Cale is only the 2nd player from the North West Coast to win the state title. At only 17 years of age Cale has a huge future in all versions of cue sports.

  Rob Higgins, Andrew Fisher, Bob Boutcher
                                                 Les Higgins & Cale Barrett                                                

Australian Junior Billiards & Snooker  Championship
The Matchroom - Adelaide 30th

June - 5th July
Southern Tasmania's young gun Alex Pace has been beaten in the Semi Final's of both the Under 15 & Under 18 Australian Snooker Championships in Adelaide.
Burnie's Joshua Burns is into the final of the Australian Under 15 Billiards Championship again and is in great form and hopefully he can defend his Australian championship he won last year.
Penguin's Cale Barrett is into the final of the Australian Under 18's Billiards Championship and has been producing great scores (599 in 90 mins) and is in a great postition to add another Australian Title to his bulging trophy cabinet.
Tasmania having finished top of the table in the Teams Event are in a strong positon to defend the Australian Junior Teams Event Championship they won last year. After this event Cale Barrett is of to Bejiing China to compete for Australia in the Under 21 World Championships, this is after he just got back as Australia's rep at the Asian Snooker Acadamy where he spent a few weeks recieving coaching from the world's best coaches. I have included links to all the events if you wish to check them out.

Event Update
Tasmania retains the Australian Junior Team Challenge defeating WA 3 - 2

Joshua Burns Runner Up Australian Under 15 Billiards
Cale Barrett Australian Under 18 Billiards Champion
Cale Barrett (TAS) d Keiran Frettingham 335 (QLD) 338-335
Cale took the lead for the first time in the match with seconds to go.

Australian Juniors Team Challenge
Australian Under 18 Billiards Championship     Australian Under 18 Snooker Championship

Australian Under 15 Billiards Championship     Australian Under 15 Snooker Championship

2013 Southern Tasmanian
  Ladies Snooker Championship Final

Pam Robertson Perpetual Shield
Tracey Baylis
Jane Nichols

Tracey Baylis, Jane Nichols & STBSA President & the new Pam Robertson Perpetual Shield

New Life Members for STBSA

Jody (Pam Robertson's daughter) Carlton (Ronnell's son) Dencil McGifford with their Life Membership Certificates

On Tuesday 18th June the STBSA inducted three (3) new Life Members into the association. These were Pam Robertson, Dencil McGifford & Ronnell Brady. Unfortunately due to ill health Pam was unable to attend with the award great fully accepted by her daughter Jody, Ronnell was also unable to attend due to work committments with Ronnell's award accepted by her son Carlton. Dencil McGifford who has been playing continuously in the STBSA since 1979 was on hand to accept her award with her husband Russ who is also a Life Member of the STBSA. These three (3) ladies are the first female life members of the STBSA and are very much overdue.
As well as recieving Life Membership the STBSA has renamed the STBSA Ladies Snooker Championship Shield in honour of Pam who has won the championship a total of 24 times with an unprecidented winning streak of 16 years from 1989 - 2004.

The Staff and Residents of the home that is now caring for Pam, ADARDS honoured Pam by having an afternoon tea in her honour recently and Pam was presented with her Life Membership Certificate, Pam had some of her family members present although Pam was not aware of what it as about she had a good time. Her sister Kay Priest sent the STBSA the photos below of Pam with her family and also a photo of Jody recieving Pam's certificate from Rob Higgins.

Kay Priest (sister), sister-in-law & brother Helen & Alan along with Pam & Jody, also Rob presenting Jody with Pam's certificate.

2013 TBSA
John Williams Shield

Ulverstone Returned Services Club - June 15th & 16th

NTBSA - Winners of the 2013 John Williams Shield
Full Details of all matches can be found by clicking on this link.

2013 Southern Tasmanian
B Grade Billiards Championship Final
Craig Douglas
John Eadie

Full details can be found by clicking this link.

2013 TBSA
  Tasmanian Billiards Championship Final

Graeme Pickett
Peter Donati

Full details can be found by clicking on this link

BYC - Black Pull out of the A Grade Roster
BYC Black has had a couple of players suddenly become unavailable to play in this season's roster, this mean's that all their respective games will now become byes. Player qualification for finals will now be four (4) games in A Grade.

Cale Barrett - Australian Under 21 Representative
at this year's
2013 World Under 21 Championship in Bejing, China

July 11th - 19th (Link to be provided when available)

2013 Southern Tasmanian
Billiards Championship Final
Les Higgins
Steve Cowie

Les Higgins has continued his domination of the STBSA Billiards Championship winning the 2013 title and now has the unbeilveable record of winning the Southern Championship 28 times in the past 30 years. Well done to Les and congratulations to Steve Cowie on making this year's final.
Full details of all matches are available here, just click here for the link.

2013 TBSA
Doug Salter Shield

Claremont RSL&A Club - May 4th & 5th

STBSA - Winners of the 2013 Doug Salter Shield

Basil Claridge, Justin Van Diepen (Capt), Mick Pollard, John Matthewson, Wayne Stokes, Steve Carroll
Click here for the link to detailed results

2013 Andrews/Atkins Shield - March 8th - 10th
RACV Club, Melbourne, Victoria
         Tasmania          Snooker                Victoria
Steve Carroll
David Cosgriff
Bob Boutcher
Daryl Tippett
Gerrad Wicks
Charlie Chaffe
Luke Webb
Brendan Taylor
Robin McEnnulty
Dale McKay
Gary Bjarnoe-Elliott
Harry Andrews
Justin Van Diepen
Jason Colebrook
David Bates
Ron Cole
Peter Donati
Ian Dale
Nel Walton
Anna Lynch
Cale Barrett
Ryan Thomerson
                              Final Score

STBSA Board of Management
President                                                 Peter Randall
Vice President                                          Terry Collins
Treasurer                                               Robert Higgins
Director of Referee's / Rules              Tommy Watson
Secretary                                                Robert Higgins
Assistant Secretary                     R Higgins / P Randall

B.O.M Directors (4)                        John Toogood OAM
                                                                 Jeremy Morris
                                                                    Steve Cowie
                                                                   Steve Carroll

Junior Development                   Sharon Featherstone
Social Director / Inventory                 Denise Loveless
Publicty Officer / Website                       Tony Cannan
Ratings Officers                       G Lindridge / T Cannan
Delegates to the State Council       T Colins / J Morris

Australian Goldfields Snooker Open
Tickets Available Now - Book Early

July 8th - 14th
Tickets can be purchased via Bendigo Stadium and RACV
www.bendigostadium.com.au/tickets - Phone 03 5440 6214

www.racv.com.au/travel - Phone 13 13 29

Crescon Joinery